Category Archive: Teams

Teams of the old Negro Leagues

Dec 26 2010

Chicago American Giants of 1917

In 1911 Rube Foster changed his team’s name to the American Giants, and dominated blackbaseball in the midwest for over a decade.

Dec 26 2010

Birmingham Black Barons of 1948

For the third time during the decade, the Black Barons won the Negro American League pennant only to lose the World Series to the Homestead Grays.

Dec 26 2010

Birmingham Black Barons of 1943

Under veteran manager Winfield “Gus” Welch, the Black Barons won consecutive Negro American League pennants in 1943-44, but lost the ensuing World Series to the Homestead Grays each time.

Dec 26 2010

Baltimore Elite Giants of 1942

During the nine-year skein of pennants by the Homestead Grays, Tom Wilson’s Elite Giants often pushed them to the wire.

Dec 26 2010

Baltimore Black Sox of 1929

When the Eastern Colored League folded, a replacement league was organized for the 1929 season.

Dec 24 2010

Atlantic City Bacharach Giants | 1926

Atlantic City Bacharach Giants of 1926

Dec 24 2010

Atlanta Black Crackers | 1938

Atlanta Black Crackers

Atlanta Black Crackers of 1938

Page 4 of 41234